Rubber hoses, aversion to spiders, buying off ebay, car services and trips to Melbourne

23 November, 2006 at 11:17 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Ahhh…the joys of modern life.

As those of you in Melbourne know, I am coming down this weekend, to stay for a week. I have to work on Wednesday, Thurday and Friday, and am hoping to catch up with you on the Friday Night (1/12).

To enable this to happen, I have been making preparations for the journey, and clothes to wear during said trip.

I washed a load of clothes yesterday, putting the machine on just before I went to bed.

The washing machine consumes a fair amount of water, and considering I am running low on rainwater in my tank, I cunningly rigged up a hose to the washing machine from the bore tap, that feeds the toilet. How clever am I? This means that my drinking/bathing water is saved for those purposes alone, and my washing machine uses the plentiful water from the bore. It’s clean water, I just won’t drink it, as it comes from underground (as the term “bore” implies), and I have no idea what has been added to said water in its underground journey.

I went to bed last night, with a fan on in my bedroom, cos it’s kinda hot here, and slept like a baby. I woke up at around 6am, walked towards the bathroom/laundry, to hear running water…lots of running water.

Yep, the hose to the washing machine had come apart from the tap, and saturated the back half of my house. Luckily, there is a drain plug in the bathroom, so most of the water managed to find it’s way out, although there was enought output from the tap to wet the carpets in my study. So I am at home today, drying carpets with a fan heater (It’s only around 28 degrees outside…).

I put on a load of washing this morning as well, after cleaning up all the standing water in the bathroom, only to pick up a bunch of clothes from the laundry hamper, to find a visitor. I canned that ass in quick fashion. Adrenaline rushes in the morning are not my idea of fun; well, self inflicted ones, maybe, but ones that result of me having my (not so) delicate hands within 2 centimetres of one of those are definately not.

I also took my car in for it’s 60,000k service on Tuesday, at the Nissan Dealer where I purchased it (Names will not be mentioned at this point). I got a phone call Tuesday afternoon, informing me that the rear brake shoes needed to be replaced. I queried this, as whilst I have done alot of K’s in a short period of time (the car is 15 months old), most of those were on the highway, and the front brakes were in great condition. I also pointed out that each of the previous service invoices I received said the brake material level was fine on all the brakes, front and back, with the exception of the 50,000k service, where they had left that info out.

I was told “The foreman came up to me and told me to call you; that’s all I know”.

I said that if they needed replacing, they needed replacing, so do it.

“You’ll have to bring the car back in tomorrow, cos we don’t stock those items-they never wear out…”

Dumfounded silence on my part.

So I took the car back yesterday, with explicit instructions that the used brake shoes were to be IN MY CAR when I picked it up, not in a dumpster somewhere.

Turns out (for those of you with mechanincal knowledge of drum brakes) that the leading shoe on one side was worn on one end only. The other half of the shoe was fine, as were the leading shoe on the left side, and both trailing shoes.

For those not mechanically minded, imagine a two semi-circular objects inside a cylinder. One half of one of those semi-circles is worn, but the …… here, look at this….

brake_drum_brake.gifbrake_system-drum.gif

And my brake shoes now look like this:

brake_drum_parts1.JPG

If you notice the wear on the top left of the brake shoes (ie-there is none of the dark grey material left)  it indicates that the shoe wasn’t sitting in the Drum properly, or that the piston (wheel cylinder, pic 1)  that pushes the shoes apart, and therefore against the Drum (which is how the brake works) was jammed.

Surely a warranty item, I hear you say. Nope. That’ll be $835 thanks….

This is one battle that’s going down hard, let me tell you.

And now to my dalek-style portable air conditioner.  I bought it off ebay, hoping that it would at least reduce the temperature in my bedroom and loungeroom to something livable. It blows air colder than the air around it, I suppose, but even after running it for four hours, the temperature in my bedroom still sits around 30 degrees. The temperature of the air coming out of the unit is around 23.5 degrees, nowhere near the 18 degrees that is espoused on the description of the item.

I’m trying to get a refund from the bloke I brought it from, but he’s not returning my calls, emails etc….

I just rang the bloke and caught him off guard…. I have to go and get a refund for the aircon now–see ya

ps I will add some more to this general complaint about life later on..

G

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A black house spider? That scared you? Mrs Kymbo once had one of those in her denims when she put them on. WonderWayne had a white-tail drop from our ceiling right next to his dinner plate – he wasn’t phased. You got nothing there, mate.
    See you next weekish

  2. so the notion of a simple country life is rubbish, eh?

  3. All this shit has started since I stopped drinking…well, two and a half weeks since I stopped drinking, but I am sure you can see my point. And Giz, I have had an unhealthy aversion to spiders since we lived in that huntsman infested hell hole in Boronia. And after watching that “comedy” Arachnophobia. If I know they are there, that’s fine (so I can kill them) but when they magically appear near part of my body, I freak. It’s an involuntary response.

  4. Nice diagrams. Have you ever considered a career in Law?

  5. don’t worry Gruntski, yer not alone. My friend C is a solid 6″ plus, a martial arts instructor/ multi-black belt guy, and is deeply afraid of spiders…

  6. Yet snakes don’t bother me. I caught a four foot brown snake when I was in grade one (6y.o.) and brought it home (It was my friends idea-he was 11 at the time, and we used to go lizard hunting as a regular thing. It’s just this time we found a snake instead. We knew what we were doing, cos we used to watch “In The Wild with Harry Butler….).

    I got grounded for three months for that little effort.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

