I am a bad parent

1 January, 2007 at 5:04 pm | Posted in Kidlets | 4 Comments

So… The silly season is upon us (again) , and for the first time, I had care of my children for just over a week. And I planned a trip to Melbourne for the duration. So I arranged accommodation at various relatives houses, planned what was going to be taken to Melbourne (clothes, snacks, entertainment etc.) and did as best I could to ensure all the children’s needs would be met whilst we were in Melbourne.

Now this was a first for me and the kids, as previously I have only ever had them for a maximum of three days/two nights at a stretch. I was a little bit daunted by the pending exercise, as I believe I lacked the suitable experience for the extended period of responsibility.

 And I wasn’t looking forward to 7 hours in the car with the kids, especially as the trip from Yass to Melbourne can be extremely tedious (particularly for children aged (nearly) three and seven).

 So you can imagine my delight when I was searching the Staff Noticeboard at work (three days before we were due to leave), and found a dual screen in-car DVD player with headphones….

 A brief haggle, and $400 later, I had found the ultimate in in-car child entertainment. And I tell you, it was definitely worth it. The kids got to watch such entetaining spectacles as Oliver (again and again), Shrek, Cars and Ice Age.

And I got to listen to the cricket all the way back from Melbourne.

 Yes, I am a terrible parent, but my kids love me.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. what’s so terrible about that? sounds like smart thinking to me 🙂

  2. In theory, they say (but who “they” are is a mystery to me) entertainment for children should be provided through interaction with others (esp. parents) and activities that are educational and skill the child in constructive thought processes.

    And I agree, in principal, although (as in this case) sometimes I just cop out and take the “Electronic Child Minder” approach.

  3. Seems to me you’d only be a bad parent if you left them in the car with the DVD player for the whole holiday, not just the boring travelling part!!

  4. yeah, sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do 🙂
    and watching dvds in cars is a fun novelty.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

