Re-living my youth… damn it hurts!!!

5 January, 2007 at 9:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Once upon a time, around twenty four years ago, I lived on a farm. We had all the usual farm animals; cows, chooks, dogs and horses. And at the time (I was ten, then, so for those of you who didn’t know, you can figure out how old I am pretty easily, but please remember I have the maturity of a 16 year old…) I was able (if not well) to ride a horse.

 Now the horse we had was around thirty years old, (more of a pony than a horse), and very quiet. Very placid, was Monty the horse.

 I, once again, am living on a farm. With horses (and sheep, and cattle, and dogs and a cat (which you’ve seen)). And I was invited to attend a little shin-dig at the farm managers house for New Years Eve.

 Several beverages were consumed by all that night/morning (we kicked on till around 3am) and I let it be known that I used to ride a horse. The farm manager and his wife have around 20 horses, and are heavily involved in Polocrosse (like Lacrosse, but on horseback) . I was asked (whilst under the affluence of incahol) whether I’d like to start riding again.

“Fuck Yeah!!!” was the response I seem to remember offering at the time.

And so I have spent the last four days (today excluded, the reason will become apparent) riding horses for around an hour and a half every day. And cleaning up their shit. And all the other stuff that goes with looking after horses.

And today, I could hardly walk.

Now; I weigh around 100 kilo’s (220 pounds), and whilst I am not “FAT”, I am on the stocky side, standing 182cm (6′) tall. And yes, I do have a beer belly (suprise suprise).

And to have my legs that far apart, and to have most of that weight resting on my inner thighs, on a moving seat (saddle), has just about split me in half. I got out of bed this morning, and just about fell over, as my legs refused to do my bidding.

 “Walk forwards, you fuckers!!!” I mentally abused my legs, long enough to get me to the bathroom where I soaked in the bath for half an hour, trying to get the muscles to loosen.

So I had a respite today (with the farm managers wife knocking on my door asking why I wasn’t at the horse yards) as I had dinner with my children, but (and I can honestly say this…) tomorrow, I’m back in the saddle.

I do intend to stick with this, because whilst I am petrified of falling off (100kg x falling 5′ to the ground = broken bone for sure, as I don’t believe I can fall as gracefully as I did when I was ten) I am also keen to be able to teach my kids how to ride, and how to ride properly.  And I am told by the horses owners that I “sit a horse quite well, given the 24 years of not riding” and my confidence is growing every day. Now I just have to develop a whole new set of muscles.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. so…muscle memory is a myth after all! i’m sure you’ll be an expert in no time , and an even bigger hero to yer kidlets 🙂

  2. Good luck! It just takes getting used to it again I’m sure (though I’ve only been on a horse less then a dozen times so who am I to talk). By the way, what’s a chook?

  3. Hi BDF, things seem to be getting a little easier with time… And a chook is Aussie slang for a chicken…. sorry about that, it’s normal over here to call them chooks, esp. out in the country…

  4. I’m always glad to learn new vocabulary 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

